A Little Behind the Scenes Action

We recently shot the campaign for the ‘Come As You Are’ collection with (we think) stunning results. We had so much fun on the day working with photographer Israel Rivera, Hair & Makeup Artist Steve Mena and amazing model Fleur Templeton, with a lot of creative direction by CDL herself.

Now that you’ve seen the images we wanted to let you in on a little behind the scenes action with Q&As from our dedicated team & some behind the scenes shots. You can check out the full campaign here.

Israel Rivera – Photographer

What’s it like working with Chelsea? Working with Chelsea is always magical and unpredictable. There is this channel of creativity between our minds that explodes into very different worlds every time we collaborate. You never know where it will go, but I can always predict that it will be exciting and very inspirational. I tend to think that we both put a lot of our own cultural expression into our shoots, they go deeper than the images.

What is the overall feel of the shoot? I think it is one of the most beautiful shoots we have done for many reasons. Natural, simple, sexy, raw, but still very Chelsea De Luca and me of course.

Any behind the scenes tricks you can let us in on? Dog… sssh secret…

Is there a big difference between shooting stills and shooting for a film? Yes of course there is more to play in film, more to show, but I think the ability to still tell a story with one image, allows me the freedom to go deeper with moving images.

Who would you consider a muse? Most of the people I shoot are my muses, they are some of the most incredible and interesting people I know and the trust and friendship they give me, helps me to get the most out of them for my images. I always want them to feel what we are shooting and you need to have a connection with people to achieve that.

Is there one person living or dead who you’d love to shoot? I would love to have photographed Grace Kelly.

You’re currently shooting Chelsea’s campaign, is there another campaign out there at the moment that’s kind of blowing you away? Actually not too many at the moment, but I do love the current Louis Vuitton 2012.

What is the one thing you notice about a girl, that you admire? Confidence is the most beautiful thing any person has got! I am lucky enough to photograph some of the most beautiful people around and I love them all in different ways, but their confidence and their ability to seduce me with it, is what I find most intriguing and I admire.

Steve Mena – Hair & Makeup Artist

What’s it like working with Chelsea? Very laid back, fun. Probably far too much fun. It’s usually quite out of control, I think that’s how we get our best work.

What kind of look were you going for with the hair and makeup today? A little bit, I hate to say the word grungy, but a little bit rock star, a little bit raw, nothing too perfect, nothing too straight, a little dishevelled.

What would be your tip to achieve this dishevelled look? The one thing you could use is black pencil and smudge, that’s the best way to do it. Keep it really simple, top of the lid, smudge it with your fingers. Lots of heavy mascara and you’re done, its easy. Add some salt spray in the hair and keep lips really nude, just a light gloss, not enough so it looks really glossy, just enough to highlight the lips.

What makeup artist out there internationally are you a fan of? I’m a big lover of Rae Morris, I think she’s wonderful.

Who would you consider a muse?  Fleur has always been my muse. Is that really bad? She’s always been such a muse, every time we’ve used her for a campaign she’s just transformed and morphed into any character and encapsulated anything we’ve given her. You come up with a concept and she wears it from top to bottom.

Is there one person living or dead who’s makeup you would like to do/have done? That’s a really good question. That’s actually really tough. You know who I love? Milla. I’ve always been a big fan of Milla Jovovich. And again because she’s a chameleon and from her acting perspective, she’s been able to take so many different roles and then makeup wis she’s also able to transform and be a Revlon girl on minute and you can see her in this grungy film being an action hero the next. I love models or actresses like that that kind of do both really really well and handle it.

You’re currently shooting Chelsea’s campaign, is there another campaign out there at the moment that’s kind of blowing you away? I’m a big fan of Chanel because they’re always so classic in everything they do. Even seeing their latest catwalk parade it just oozes elegance from every single element, they take the time and put so much effort into every single detail from the campaigns through to the catwalk. You don’t see a separation between their campaign and then what you see on the catwalk in terms of production value. Every single element is perfection. I think that’s something we can all aspire to.

What is the one thing you notice about a girl, that you admire? Eyebrows. The first thing I looked at on my daughter when she was born were her eyebrows. I think eyebrows are so important because they frame your face. If your eyebrows are right you can’t go wrong.

Fleur Templeton – Model Extraordinaire

What’s it like working with Chelsea? Working with Chelsea is always a wonderful experience. She is one of the most uniquely creative and kindest people I know. Her work continues to amaze me, and I feel honoured to have worked with her.

Any behind the scenes tricks you can let us in on? Shoots are never as easy as people think! Being well rested is important but having sweets on set is the key! Chocolate and sugar are guaranteed to lift spirits when it has been a long day.

Is there one photographer living or dead who you’d love to work with? Helmut Newton. His images are hauntingly beautiful and timeless.

You’re currently shooting Chelsea’s campaign, is there another campaign out there at the moment that’s kind of blowing you away? I love the Louis Vuitton S/S 2012 campaign shot by Steven Meisel. It’s simple, sweet and there is something very innocent about it.

What’s your off-duty style?I believe in being comfortable at all times! I’ll dress differently depending on my mood. A nice top and jeans is always a good combination, plus I almost always keep a pair of heels in my handbag in case I feel a little underdressed.

What is your favourite part about being on set? When I work with such great people and in different places every day, I often forget that I’m actually working!

Chelsea De Luca – Our fearless leader.

What’s it like working with Israel, Steve & Fleur? In two words – passionate & inspiring.  I have continued to work with these gorgeous creatures as they create an atmosphere on set that is always passionate but relaxed and professional, all rolled into one.   There is never a dull moment.  We always have a blast! Israel, Steve & Fleur all strive for perfection and when we work together it becomes so effortless.

What is the overall feel of the shoot? Every shoot that we do, we always strive for a specific tone that I want to create and a story we want to tell. Israel and I work closely together to make that happen.  This shoot was a slight departure from previous shoots in that it is in a more raw & natural state but at the same time still has that sense of theatrics and drama running through it.

Any behind the scenes tricks you can let us in on? Surround yourself with great people.  And I always over prepare for the day.  Especially when we are shooting in the middle of nowhere.  And I like to over cater to make sure there’s lots of munchies for the long day ahead.

Is there a big difference between shooting stills and shooting for a film? Absolutely!  There is a lot less room for error with film and even more preparation as everything is captured in motion.

Who would you consider a muse? So many.  I would consider Fleur a muse as she is effortlessly beautiful.  Fleur has modelled for most of the CDL Campaigns as she is such a chameleon and an absolute gem to work with. I love girls who are confident in their own skin. Right now I’m loving Irina Lazareanu and Jane Birkin.

Is there one person living or dead who you’d love to see in cdl? So many, but right now I would say, Josephine Baker.  She was a big inspiration for this new collection, ‘Come As You Are’.  Her boldness, confidence & eccentricities I truly admire.

What is your favourite part about being on set? Seeing all of the jewellery finally coming to life!  And working with such an incredibly talented group of individuals who are also my friends.

About chelsea de luca

A blog documenting the loves, inspirations and musings of one of Australia's most celebrated jewellery designers, chelsea de luca. Not for the faint-hearted.
This entry was posted in Campaigns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

