Interviewing the mastermind herself

There are some things we know you’re all dying to know about the delightful Ms Chelsea De Luca so what could we do but give the people what they want?

HQ: What inspired you to start chelsea de luca jewellery? CDL: I always had a strong desire to have my own business and coupled with the frustration of the lack of good quality costume jewellery at the time (with so much throw-away, mass-produced jewellery that lacked soul), the label was born.

How does the design process for each collection start? Each collection usually starts with a character in mind and the story is built from there to evoke a certain feeling that I want to portray within the collection.

What is the most gratifying part of the design process? Seeing all of the pieces come to life. From the sketches to samples to production. And the experience of people enjoying them.

What inspires you? So many differing things. From silent films, to photographers such as Mert & Marcus, Ellen von Unwerth, to utterly beautiful interiors.

How did the Inside Out feature come about? Inside Out’s Editor Richard Waller approached me as he thought it was a perfect fit. I have a great passion for interiors so I jumped at the chance to work with such a talented group of people.

Who is your personal hero? I have many people that I admire greatly but one very close to my heart is my Nonna, who at 90 years old, has lived an incredible life.

What do you do to relax? Read, travel and cook for family & friends.

Is there a particular book or movie that changed your life? Currently reading ‘Art of War’… I’ll let you know.

What were you like as a kid? I had a very vivid imagination and would be forever dressing myself and my sisters up and getting ‘into character’.

How do you plan an outfit for a special occasion? I always start with the jewellery and work my way from there. If I’m going to wear a big oversized neckpiece or earrings, I’ll keep my outfit simple or casual, or both.

What do you have planned for cdl in the future? In the near future we have a collection coming out which features an edgier, more rock & roll feel with lots of heavy & layered chain pieces. In terms of the business, a strong focus on strengthening our presence nationally and in overseas markets. Whilst at the same time strengthening our e-boutique business by delivering collection pieces to our cdl customers on a more regular basis.

Well there you go, an insight into the inner workings of our favourite designer 😉

Is there anything you think we’ve missed?

xx.

the cdl team.

About chelsea de luca

A blog documenting the loves, inspirations and musings of one of Australia's most celebrated jewellery designers, chelsea de luca. Not for the faint-hearted.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

